Skip to content

December 1, 2009 Power Rankings

December 1, 2009

The rankings are beginning to settle in as I start to feel like I’ve gotten it all sorted out based on my dining experiences thus far.  So now, movement will likely be driven by: (1) good/bad experiences at a restaurant; (2) a new restaurant opening up or closing down (or a visit to a restaurant I haven’t previously dined at); (3) a friend convincing me that a restaurant is ranked too high/too low.  That being said, I thought long and hard about putting Michael’s Genuine (#2) into a tie with Red Light (#3) but I’ve decided against it for now.  Thoughts?

Also, Art Basel is upon us which means that a few new restaurants are going to attempt to open.  Here’s my list of places to try when they open: Morgan’s (in Midtown); the Aegean restaurant I blogged about a little while back; GastroPod (Chef Jeremiah Bullfrogz new mobile eatery).

(Last Week’s Rankings in Parentheses)

1. NAOE (1)

2. Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink (2)

3. Red Light (3)

4. Buena Vista Bistro (4)

5. Fratelli Lyon (5)

6. Bin No. 18 (6)

7. Michy’s (7)

8. Hiro’s Yakko-San (8)

9. BLT Steak (9)

10. Bourbon Steak (10)

11. Joe’s Stone Crab (11)

12. Azul (12)

13. Pizzavolante (13)

14. Sra. Martinez (15)

15. Oishi Thai (16)

16. Metro Bistro Cafe (14)

17. Pacific Time (17)

18. Sardinia (19)

19. OLA (18)

20. Area 31 (20)

On the Bubble: Cafe Sambal; Eos.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Buena Vista permalink
    December 1, 2009 1:02 pm

    Aegean place = Mandolin

  2. Debbie permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:20 pm

    That’s a lot of food.

  3. December 3, 2009 8:09 pm

    I went to Buena Vista night before last after the grand opening of Design Miami. Unfortunately after hearing very nice things about it, including from here, I was ultimately very disappointed. I ordered chicken curry and my wife had salmon. The food was just bland, with no seasoning or natural flavor in existence. We’ll chalk it up to “bad night” and try again sometime, but this night wasn’t worthy of your venerable #4 spot.

  4. Ryan permalink*
    December 3, 2009 8:13 pm

    That’s the first bad experience I’ve had recounted to me from BVB. Sorry to hear that. I think the place can sometimes get overwhelmed when crowded so maybe Basel week is going to be a trying time for them. But that’s no excuse. Sorry to hear you had a bad dinner. I still maintain that they serve the best tuna tartare in Miami (and the rest of the world). So hopefully you’ll give it another try.

Leave a Reply

