Skip to content

April 20, 2010 Power Rankings

April 20, 2010

The blog is going to hit the road this weekend in what I like to call:

MRPR PRESENTS . . . A VERY MOMOFUKU WEEKEND

The most difficult piece of that puzzle is getting reservations to Momofuku Ko, the 12-seater with an intricate online reservation system that makes Black Friday shopping look like a series of increasingly pleasurable massages.  But I clicked at precisely the second when one table for two was available on Friday night at 9:20 p.m.  And now I’m going to guard the printed reservation confirmation like it’s the last Golden Ticket and I’m that blueberry girl (which I might resemble after my very Momofuku weekend).

Other spots to hit: Momofuku Noodle Bar, Momofuku Ssam Bar, and the new midtown location: Ma Peche.  Plus a trip or two to Milk Bar and my long weekend is complete.  If I get some downtime, let’s not rule out a trip to Shake Shack, so we can figure out what to expect when it arrives on Lincoln Road (with the coolest tagline ever: Miami Has A New Vice).  On the flight back I’m going to need a seatbelt extender, a stent, some cholesterol meds, and a bloody mary.

So this is sort of a preview of what is to come.  I’m going to have to dig deep to find eighteen different ways to describe pork.  But I welcome the challenge.  As I like to say: Momofuk-me?  Momofuku!

(Last Week’s Rankings in Parentheses)

1. NAOE (1)

2. Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink (2)

3. Red Light (3)

4. Sakaya Kitchen (4)

5. Buena Vista Bistro (5)

6. BLT Steak (6)

7. Hiro’s Yakko-San (8)

8. Eos (9)

9. GastroPod (10)

10. Bin No. 18 (7)

11. Fratelli Lyon (11)

12. Michy’s (12)

13. Bourbon Steak (13)

14. Pizzavolante (14)

15. Mandolin Aegean Bistro (15)

16. Azul (16)

17. Sra. Martinez (17)

18. Joe’s Stone Crab (18)

19. Barbu (NR)

20. Latin Burger and Taco Truck (19)

On the Bubble: Sardinia (20); Metro Bistro Cafe.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicholas Duran permalink
    April 20, 2010 8:16 am

    Too much Momofuku!! There are a ton of other great spots to check out!! Minetta Tavern…El Faro…Peasant….Momofuku is close to heaven but I can promise you these other places will bring you right up there as well.

  2. Alaska Adam permalink
    April 20, 2010 1:04 pm

    I see Chicken Kitchen was robbed again. The fix is in!

  3. keithjam permalink
    April 21, 2010 6:15 pm

    I am so jealous that you get to try all the Momo restaurants. Last year I went to Ssam bar and had the best meal of my life. Thanks for turning me on to Sakaya Kitchen, which I call Momodonald’s.

    • April 26, 2010 9:52 pm

      Hey Keithjam the crew here at Sakaya kitchen voted on the new name and decided to say “fuck off”

  4. jmdhsmiami permalink
    April 22, 2010 8:55 am

    you have to try Shake Shack at least once before their trip south. I was not impressed… Charm City Burger and even B&B is tremendously better than SS.

    Enjoy your momofuku binge, I did that in February and enjoyed it.

Trackbacks

  1. Shake Shucks: No Golden Ticket « Miami's Restaurant Power Rankings

Leave a comment