Skip to content

Spices are a Privilege, Not a Right

August 1, 2010

When I was in college, there was an Indian restaurant (not in Miami) that told a group of fellow college students dining there that spices were a privilege, not a right.  So, let me take the liberty to paraphrase: Miami Spice is a privilege, not a right. 

If you do not participate, I will still frequent your establishment and eat your food.  In fact, after reading a review of the opening ceremonies, it may actually be harmful to participate. (Editor’s Note: As is all too common in the blogosphere, Superbee’s 2 a.m. post on the Miami Spice event has been removed.  Here’s a memorable quote: “I guess headcounts and proper serving amounts are for jerks. I wish the restaurants who ‘participated’ good luck during Miami Spice — I know I’ll remember the places that ran out of food for the inauguration — and I’ll probably gloss over those places.”).

Now, this post is really meant to be a non-defensive response to Frodnesor’s “Spiceonomics” post.  But since I do not believe in mathematics, and his post was riddled with integers, I have ignored large portions of his argument.

The quick version is that I agree it is untenable and unfair to demand that restaurants offer their signature dishes with no regard for cost.  There are increasing numbers of hard-working chef-owners in town who are not underwritten by millionaires investors or a NY-based restaurant empire.  I get that this is a business and that not everyone is in a position to spend money to make money. 

But there are ways to participate without giving off signs of desperation (in other words, the many familiar death throes of a troubled restaurant, such as The Groupon Theory).  This is Miami.  Even if you have insecurities or financial woes, just project confidence.  Hell, even the janitor drives a Ferrari in this town.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 5:52 pm

    You’re right not to be defensive, I pretty much made up most of the math anyway. And I thoroughly agree there’s a right way and a wrong way for restaurants to do Spice, if they’re going to do it. But then, there’s a reason I’m not tempted to go to many of those restaurants the other 11 months of the year anyway.

  2. jeremiah bullfrog permalink
    August 3, 2010 1:25 am

    as an owner/operator my thoughts on Spice month are crap. It started as a promo to help out in the stupid slow months of summer. Now you have to pay to participate.

    Most places use the opp to shovel shit anyway.

    Besides, the gPod menu is all under 10 bucks anyhow, suckers.

    my $.02

  3. August 12, 2010 11:06 am

    Holler. Yeah, I took down the post. I wrote it while tanked – after the Spice Event, we had to get pizza (we were hungry), and from there we went to Playwright, and then…Automatic Slim’s. And then I wrote a blog.

    When I remembered I had written it the next morning, waking up with a raging hangover, I wanted to take it down to edit it, tone it down a bit, and rationalize that maybe the restaurants didn’t know how many people would be coming… but… alas have not had the time.

    So, that’s my two cents on why my post was barfed onto the computer screen, and then summarily deleted – originally for revisions, but now, probably for good, as it’s a moot point.

Leave a Reply

